What I Wish I Knew about bloody Peter Sheahan

February 2, 2010

Speaker and best selling author, Peter Sheahan, has released a new book called Making it Happen. Turning Your Good Ideas into Great Results and frankly, it annoyed the pants off me.

Making It Happen

Firstly, because I wish I knew this stuff about 10 years ago when I was starting out as a Stand Up. The chapter on Positioning alone would have been worth tens of thousands of dollars to me back then. As I was reading it, I remembered living in the UK trying to break out get attention as a Comic – half my act was berating the English with a cheeky grin on my face for not realising how great a nation they were – and then the phrase dropped into my head “I’m the Aussie who loves the Poms.” If I had thought of this one tagline when I was living and working in the UK I would have instantly been interviewed by every single whining, moaning newspaper in the land. Instant Stardom.

The second reason I was annoyed is because, like any self-respecting smug male who thinks he understands stuff about how life works, it’s profoundly annoying to see how little I know about Making It Happen. All my success so far seems like dumb luck and persistence when I read this book. Arrgghhh.

As someone who prides himself on packing a lot of valuable info into my What I Wish I Knew books, I can recognise a book that needs to be read a few times to really absorb it. Buy it, read it, summarise it, then read it again.

Congratulations to Peter Sheahan for not holding anything back for the sequel and downloading every bit of info he has on this into a tremendous book. As Molly Meldrum would say “Do yourself a favour.”

Leave a Reply

