What I Wish I Knew about The Greatest Love of All

March 5, 2010

Firstly, let me make it clear that the subject line isn’t referring to Witney Houston, whose fans these days are all sadly shaking their heads, walking out at half time and saying “I’m sorry, but I won’t always love you.” and “What happened to your septum?” I’m talking about this fantastic quote from Author, Nikkie Gemmel which beautifully describes what she calls “the finest love”. I know I’ll be accused – not for the first time – of being a big girly man, but Allie and my love gets better and better with every triumph, every hiccup, and every downright bare naked god awful disaster we live through together.

Call me old fashioned, call me grumpy, you can even call me curmudgeonly if you like, but I reckon our youth obsessed culture could get a lot from Nikki’s quote.

I knew I had to interview Nikki for my book on Lurve because Allie and I were given her best seller, “The Bride Stripped Bare” to read on our honeymoon in Corsica, and it was perfect for a couple of loved up newlyweds. Some deep mushy stuff, the main character examining why we all tie the knot in the first place, plus some superb raunchiness as well. As Molly would say “Do yourself a favour.”

(And it’s a cracking photo of someone who ends up being a writer too)

2 Responses to “What I Wish I Knew about The Greatest Love of All”

  1. Jo Says:

    Thank you so much for the gift of this book, I’ve only recently re-opened my life and importantly my heart to unconditional love and the reward has been finding a gem of a man who has the same beliefs, values and returns that love unconditionally and has given me more joy in 3months than I’ve experienced before.


Leave a Reply

